Select Page

Let’s talk about sharing your Google files and collaborating with others!

For me, sharing and collaborating with others using G Suite for Education is magical! As an administrator, you have created a document to share with your team, but it can be confusing figuring out what settings you need to use.

I have been asked this question by many principals, coaches and teachers alike. You want to do it right, so I’ve created a guide to help you understand the different kinds of sharing.

In short, there are 4 main level’s of sharing

Private

When you create a file it is automatically set at private. The file is only accessible to you, no one else can see or edit the file. When you select the share option, you can clearly see that the document is Private.

View

Allowing someone to view the files allows them to look at the file but make no changes. It also gives them the ability to make their own copy. To edit this ability refer to the owner settings.

Comment

Allowing someone to comment, gives the ability to select text and add a comment to the sides of the document. This is a great way to give someone access to your file to give feedback or ask questions.

Edit

This is where you and Google can shine! Adding collaborators to your document with the Edit setting, allows others to work side by side with you on a document. This means they can add, edit, change the formatting of the document.

Additional Owner Settings:

Under the share options, you will find the Owner Settings. If you are sharing a document outside of your normal team, you might want to consider these settings.

The first prevents people with editing rights the ability to change the access rights to your document. This means they can add or delete people from your document, or change other people’s rights. Don’t worry about your rights, as the owner of a document, no one can change your rights to the document.

The second setting disables the ability for people with view and committing rights the ability to download, copy and print. For example a password sheet, for security you might not want to allow people to be able to print it and display it on their desk.

 

Private

When you create a file it is automatically set at private. The file is only accessible to you, no one else can see or edit the file. When you select the share option, you can clearly see that the document is Private.

View

Allowing someone to view the files allows them to look at the file but make no changes. It also gives them the ability to make their own copy. To edit this ability refers to the owner settings.

Comment

Allowing someone to comment, gives the ability to select text and add a comment to the sides of the document. This is a great way to give someone access to your file to give feedback or ask questions.

Edit

This is where you and Google can shine! Adding collaborators to your document with the Edit setting, allows others to work side by side with you on a document. This means they can add, edit, change the formatting of the document.

Additional Owner Settings:

Under the share options, you will find the Owner Settings. If you are sharing a document outside of your normal team, you might want to consider these settings.

The first prevents people with editing rights the ability to change the access rights to your document. This means they can add or delete people from your document, or change other people’s rights. Don’t worry about your rights, as the owner of a document, no one can change your rights to the document.

The second setting disables the ability for people with view and committing rights the ability to download, copy and print. For example a password sheet, for security you might not want to allow people to be able to print it and display it on their desk.

 

How has G Suite changed how you work?